blog · prose poetry

Lifeless Muse

My lifeless muse,
let me paint the
sorrow in your face
the way you shrug your
shoulders in unease
the way they disdain you,
the way they call you a loner
oh I’m sure, I’m sure
they’re just jealous.

My lifeless muse,
let me paint your life
in all its colors
grey, black, white, sepia
and yellow for jollity
I’ll draw you in all your
beautiful and your broken
angles.

My lifeless muse,
allow me to draw inspiration
from you
you’re the story I have to tell
the untold story within me
consuming my flesh and bones.

My lifeless muse,
I’ll ask God to resurrect you
from the dead
to  give you the  life I’ve lost
in search of life

But if he refuses,
I’ll give you the life you deserve
I’ll give you a place to thrive
here in my life.

Leave a Reply

