blog · prose poetry

A Potential “US”

I saw so much
potential in us
have drawn up
a map conveniently
of us – of places to go
and I’ve made a mental note
of your favorite everything –
favorite food, restaurants, movies, songs;
your pet peeves –
so I’d be careful not to commit them
I listen to everything you say
even when you’re silent
so I’ve drawn us out our future
I was expecting so much from us
from you, from me
I’ve invested so much love in you
when it was all a lie
cos one day, you stopped texting
and answering my calls
you refused to –
tell me is it because I’m not blond
or thin enough or tall enough for you
is my skin not tan enough
is it because I’m not wearing hooker heels for you
don’t make my flaws your alibis
if your personality is flawed

 

Leave a Reply

